Moving to a New Adventure

Soooo……23 years ago when I moved to Denver, I thought I was done with excessive heat, monster humidity and apocalyptic bugs. Turns out I was wrong.

In just over a month, I will be leaving the beautiful state of Colorado and moving to ….wait for it…..Atlanta, GA. Yep, that’s right. Back to the world of grits, sweet tea, yes m’am and no sir.

How did this happen you ask? Well it turns out hubby and I actually would like to keep working for the company we work for.  Their terms for continued employment were “Follow your work to Atlanta or go off payroll”. Ummmm….ok.

Now we are not going to Atlanta proper.  Ugh no. We currently have a contract on a house in a suburb of Atlanta called Lilburn.  It’s like ” little-burn”, but said with a Southern accent. The good news is the house is more than twice the size of our current house for the same price we could sell ours for; or less. We still have to pass inspection and we have to have the fence repaired (sellers giving us a break on closing to cover that), but if all goes well we have a house. A huge house on 3/4 of an acre.  Pinching myself here.

It will be a grand adventure.  I get to drive on the freeway twice a day to get to work. Have I mentioned how much I detest and avoid-at-all-costs freeways? We will need to find a new church.  Yuck. Church-shopping can take fo-evah.  And did I also mention that I will only know the few fellow workers from Denver who also chose to follow the work? And they probably won’t be living in Lilburn? So yeah, I won’t know a soul. And as an introvert, meeting new people and making new friends is a chore.

The other good news is that God does still have a plan even if He hasn’t quite clued me in on it yet. Either we need to be there or we need to be there for someone else. Either way, “Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid, do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with  you wherever you go”.

So until then…see y’all!

 

 

Leave a comment