My Next Step In Urban Farming

Ever since I was very young I have been totally taken with the idea of “living off the land”, being self-reliant, and every thing that those ideas encompass.  While also being able to regularly visit museums and libraries, attend the ballet and symphony, and mall-crawl.  Yep, I’m weird.  I freely admit it.

Anyhoo, a couple of weeks ago a friend of mine was told by the nefarious county animal control that she had to get rid of most of her animals – goats, chickens, rabbits. All of which were very well cared for and behind a privacy fence. Sigh.  I won’t even go into my opinions on trying to live and get-by and being regulated to death in the process. So, I get a phone call – “Can you take a rabbit? With a cage?”.  Ummm…….how many ways can I say “Heck yeah!!”

I am now the proud “MOM” to Matilda the rabbit.  Matilda will be bred again soon and hopefully produce an abundance of little fuzzballs that will be lovingly tended until it’s time for them to inhabit my freezer.  And/or canning jars.

Bleeding heart PETA supporters – keep your comments to yourself.

My next step is convincing the hubby that we actually DO have room for chickens and a coop.   And set up the worm farm under the rabbit cage. *evil laugh*

The garden has done reeeaaalllyyy well this year.  Well, at least some of the garden has done well.  Tomatoes, yellow squash, zucchini, turnips, all manner of peppers have exploded.  Beans, radishes, beets, spinach – not so much.  We even, finally, have watermelon and cantaloupe coming along. Happy dance.

That’s life in the big city for ya.  Lol.

Hope your week is going well!

p.s. Yes, I do have season tickets for the ballet this year.  Told ya I was weird.

Leave a Reply

