Do You Ever….

Do you ever read the blogs by the women who can/dehydrate/store  everything that doesn’t move and feel inadequate?  I do.

Do you ever read the blogs by the women who tout how to have a wonderful, loving, romantic marriage and feel inadequate?  I do.

Do you ever read the blogs by the women who homeschool 28 children and they all go on to acquire Masters Degrees and feel inadequate?  I do.

Do you ever read the blogs by the women who propose to tell you how to clean and organize your house all without sacrificing your quiet time with God or your  manicure  and feel inadequate? I do.

Do you ever read the blogs by the women who grow acres of gardens proficiently every single year and feel inadequate?  I do.

Do you ever read the blogs by the women who propose to tell you how to only eat organic, locally grown produce and grass-fed meat and feel inadequate?  I do.

I know that these women are all well-meaning and in truth, I actually learn a great deal from them for my own journey.  But, lets get real here.  It can get overwhelming.

Would you like a little bit of fresh air?

Ok, deep breath.  I’m about to take the plunge into real-life honesty here.

I work a full-time job.  I don’t get to be a stay-at-home wife. I only got to be a stay-at-home-mom for a couple of years.  I only just now (a few years ago) started canning things and I ‘m still learning.  My 32 year marriage has been…..well, lets just say less than stellar for the majority of those 32 years.  My only child is serving time in prison. I never got to homeschool like I wanted to. My housekeeping can leave a lot to be desired.  My garden spot is 8 feet by 8 feet and doesn’t always do well.  I buy the meat I can afford and that is rarely the “good” stuff.  Produce is the same way. Some nights we eat boxed cereal for dinner…by choice. I do what I can with what I have and try to share what I’ve learned along the way.

Do you feel better now?  Have I lifted the load a little bit? Good.  Because now you and I can pick ourselves up and move forward to glean what we can from the “experts”  and walk our own journeys.  We don’t need to walk in their footsteps, we need to make our own.  Sometimes we will be parallel to theirs and sometimes we will be off on a wild tangent.  And you know what?  That’s ok.  Because someday, we may an “expert” to someone else because of that tangent. Let’s just keep doing what we need to do for ourselves and our families and not worry if we “measure up” to someone else’s moving target.

I hope you have a wonderful week being right where you are, learning and doing just what you need.

Linking up with:

http://newlifeonahomestead.com/, www.time-warp-wife.blogspot.com, http://www.aboverubies.net/, http://www.growinghomeblog.com/, http://www.deeprootsathome.com/, http://www.raisingarrows.net/, www.oursimplefarm.com, http://raisinghomemakers.com/

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lisa
    Mar 10, 2014 @ 02:06:45

    Amen!!

    Reply

  2. Carmen
    Mar 10, 2014 @ 14:56:54

    I 2nd the motion–Amen and Amen!!!

    Reply

  3. Vickie
    Apr 22, 2014 @ 02:05:15

    Wow – we should talk! It sounds like we feel the same way! Sometimes I can’t figure out how other women do all they do!! I’m retired so I should have all the time in the world to do what I want to do, but somehow I just don’t. I am learning how to can, slowly. But it takes so much time to prepare everything. I had a great garden last year, until my summer squash succumbed to mosaic virus, my cantaloupe kept getting half eaten by some unseen bug before I could get to them, and my lettuce was feeding all of the little green worms in the neighborhood. I guess the good thing is that I still had fun in the garden, regardless. And the few items I have canned have turned out well (sort of). But, I have a sneaking suspicion that some of these wonder women have different lives than they portray on-line. I think I will stick with mine! 🙂

    Reply

    • heavensdaughter
      Apr 27, 2014 @ 01:27:44

      Oh my! I’m sorry for your garden troubles, but you did make me laugh. I suspect you may be quite right about those “other lives” that some of my favorite bloggers live. I’ll still glean what things I am able from them, but I will certainly not beat myself up for being real. Thanks for stopping by!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

