Pickled Garlic

Ok, ok.  Stop saying “Eeeeew!” and making retching sounds. Pickled garlic is really quite good.

But why, oh why would anyone ever make it?

Well, for me it’s for cold and flu season.  Yep, it’s another weapon in my herbal arsenal.  Garlic is anti-microbial, anti-fungal, anti-bacterial, and anti-viral.   It’s pretty much “anti” everything you could want.  The only problem is, how do you use it when you have the ickies?

You can chop it up really fine and combine it with honey and cayenne.  That’s especially good for strep throat.  You can eat a lot of garlicky Italian food. But the easiest way to get all the kick-butt goodness out of garlic when you’re sick is to just chomp on some garlic cloves.

Yeah. Like that’s gonna happen.

I seriously could not get around the idea of just chomping into a raw clove of garlic.  Definitely eeeeewww!!!  Until I found a recipe for pickled garlic.  I tried one recipe from Rosemary Gladstone and it was…..meh.  Then I tried one from Heather over at the Welcoming House.  Score!

It’s easy to make and just tastes like garlicky pickles without the dill or the cucumbers. Now, when I feel the ickies coming on like I did this week (thanks for sharing your germs boss) I can pop open a jar and have my own herbal Tamiflu shot.  Without the cost of doctors, prescriptions, taking off work, driving all over town…..you get the picture.

So, how do you take this pickled garlic for colds and flu?  When you first start to feel like you might be coming down with something, take one clove every 1-2 hours.  Continue that for at least 2 days even if you feel fine after the first day.

If you miss the warning signs and come down with something, take one clove every 1/2 to 1 hour until symptoms subside.  Then continue for at least one more day.

Yes, you will smell like garlic.  Yes, you will successfully keep any and all vampires away.  And potentially all others as well.  Personally, if I’m feeling sick I WANT to keep people away from me so I won’t infect them with whatever yuck I may have.

You need:

6 cups of peeled garlic (you can cheat like I did and buy it already peeled from your favorite warehouse store)

vinegar

canning salt

sugar

pint canning jars

Sorry, I can’t give you the exact recipe from Heather, because it’s her copyright.  But, hop on over to her blog if you want the exactness.

The prep took about 10-15 minutes.  Then I put everything into my canning jars and water bath canned them.  Perfect!!

Now wouldn’t this be far better than a week or more of sickness and expensive medicine?  Hey, even over-the-counter meds can get pricey.  Give it a try!

 

Linking up with:

http://newlifeonahomestead.com/, www.time-warp-wife.blogspot.com, http://www.aboverubies.net/, http://www.growinghomeblog.com/, http://www.deeprootsathome.com/, http://www.raisingarrows.net/, www.oursimplefarm.com, http://raisinghomemakers.com/

 

Leave a Reply

