Laundry Soap Refresher

I needed to make another batch of laundry soap today, so I thought I would post a refresher on how I make mine.  My laundry soap recipe costs at most $3.50 and makes 5 gallons.  This will last me anywhere from 8-10 months.  I’d say that was a pretty good deal.  Here’s what you need:

DSCN0020

1 bar of soap – fels naptha or zote ( I used fels naptha)

1 cup of borax

1 cup of washing soda (NOT baking soda)

1 container of dollar store oxyclean (optional – I didn’t have any this time)

1 5-gallon bucket

Begin by grating the bar of soap.

DSCN0021

Once the entire bar is grated into a pan add enough water to just cover it.  Heat on medium-low slowly until all the gratings are melted. Pour the melted soap into the 5 gallon bucket.  Add enough hot water to half fill the bucket.  Now add the borax and the washing soda.  Stir well until everything is dissolved.  Now fill the bucket the rest of the way up with hot water.  Be careful if you use the spray attachment on your sink to fill the bucket.  You may mistake the froth of suds for having filled the bucket, but it will not be full of liquid and you want it full of liquid.

DSCN0022

Cover the bucket and allow to cool overnight.  After 24 hours you should have a bucket of lovely gelled soap.

Use 1/2 to 1 cup of soap depending on how dirty the clothes and how hard your water.

Hope you’re having a wonderful weekend!

 

 

 

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carole
    Jan 14, 2014 @ 21:45:34

    Do you leave/store your soap in that sane bucket with the lid on? Does it get moldy? It sounds great and I am anxious to try it.

    Reply

    • heavensdaughter
      Jan 15, 2014 @ 00:35:18

      Yes, I store it in the same bucket. It doesn’t get moldy at all. It’s great! Give it a try, I’m sure you’ll like it too. Thanks for stopping by!

      Reply

    • heavensdaughter
      Jan 15, 2014 @ 11:06:16

      Yes I store it in the same container. Mold is not a problem. Give it a try, I’m sure you’ll like it. Thanks for stopping by!

      Reply

  2. Trackback: More Bang For Your Buck Part 6: Cleaning Things Up | Heavensdaughter's Blog

Leave a Reply

