Dehydrated Ground Meat

What?  Why?  How?

Yeah, dehydrated gound meat is my new go-to pantry item.  I love it!  I tried canning ground meat and, well, it just doesn’t taste right to me.  It’s not that it tastes bad, just not……right.  I tried, I really tried to like it.  I was really bummed about it too.  How do I store ground meat shelf-stable if I won’t eat it after I’ve stored it?  That’s not a good proposition.

Then another blogger lady suggested dehydrating it instead.  Um, ok.  So, I got this…

103_2657

Cooked it up, drained it, rinsed it under hot running water really well to remove as much grease as possible.  Then put it in here….

103_2658

Left it to run overnight and voila!  The next morning I had this…

103_2659

Hard little rocks of dried ground meat that is shelf stable.  Then I tried cooking with it, and oh happy day, it tasted right! 

It’s really simple to use, just take 1 cup of dehydrated ground meat for every 1 pound of meat that you need.  Rehydrate it in about a half to 3/4 cup hot water til it plumps back up and softens and you’re ready to go.  If you’re making chili or spaghetti sauce you don’t really even need to presoak the meat.  Just add some extra water to the pot and add the meat right in.

I’m loving it!  Now, I’m off to dehydrate 4 more pounds of it.  Yes!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. AffordableLiving
    Apr 14, 2013 @ 10:40:17

    It’s a good idea. I might try it. I’m guessing freezing is not an option if your house. I tend to freeze meat in portion sized bags… 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

