Canning Cuties

It’s that time of year when tangerines, or Cuties, are in season.  They are sooo good and it’s such a short season.  What to do, what to do.  How about canning them?  They are, after all, just mandarin oranges.  We don’t go through a lot of canned mandarin oranges, but they are really nice to have on hand.  So, I grabbed two five pound bags this week and started canning them.

103_2666

Ok, warning…..this is very tedius.  After peeling the tangerines, you need to remove as much of the pith from the segments as possible.  Ugh.  I chose to do this in the living room while watching cooking shows.  At least I wasn’t bored. 

Once the segments are as clean as you can get the, pack them lightly into clean canning jars.  I chose to use half pints this time around.

103_2667

Now you will need a sugar syrup.  You can make it as heavy or as light as you wish, you can use orange juice instead of water, you can even make it sugar free.  It’s all up to you.  I chose to make a basic syrup of one part water to one part sugar.  For the eight jars I filled I needed about four cups of syrup, so four cups of water and four cups of sugar. 

103_2668

Bring your sugar and water mixture to a boil and remove from heat.  Carefully ladle over tangerine segments in jars up to the first ring on the jar.  Top with lid and ring and place in a water bath canner.  Process for 10 minutes at sea level.  Adjust your time for altitude if needed. 

Once processed, remove from canner and allow to cool.  Check your seals and enjoy!

103_2672

The eight jars I filled only used up about 2 1/2 pounds of cuties so I have plenty more to can up and to eat plain.

Oh, and all those peels?  Don’t throw them away!! 

103_2669

I put them into the dehydrator.

103_2671

Once dried I can pulse them in my spice grinder into powder.

103_2670

Now I have orange powder for cooking and baking. Yum!!!

Hope you’re having a great weekend.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. AffordableLiving
    Apr 14, 2013 @ 10:44:16

    This is amazing. I have never thought of doing this. Now I’ll have to start saving jars for the process… 🙂 Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

