Cherry Almond Craisin Granola

In my never-ending quest to be more frugal I took a look at what we are spending on cold cereal.  Not as much as some probably, but I figured I could do better and be healthier too.  That led me to granola.  Hmmm.  I’ve made granola before and wasn’t very impressed with the results.  But, times have changed and I decided to give it another try. 

I surfed through some sites and came up with a recipe from The Food Network.  I tweaked it just a tiny bit and here’s what I came up with.

Start with 4 cups of old fashioned rolled oats

103_2603

Add 2 cups of sliced almonds

103_2604

Add to that 2 cups of sweetened flaked coconut

103_2605

Sprinkle in two teaspoons of cinnamon and mix well.

Pour in 1/2 cup vegetable oil and 1/3 cup honey.  Stir well until everything is incorporated.  Spread out onto cookie sheets.

103_2606

Bake in a 325 degree oven stirring every 5 – 10 minutes for 15 – 30 minutes.  Be careful  not to burn it.  Once it is golden brown, stir in 1 cup dried cherries and 1 cup craisins.

103_2607

Let it cool and you are ready to go.

103_2608

It made 2 1/2 quarts of goodness. It’s great with milk or with my homemade yogurt.  And I have plenty of ingredients for many more batches.

Hope you are having a great weekend.  I’m going to try to stay out of the snow storm in the area lol.

Linking up with: Barn Hop, The Welcoming House

Leave a Reply

