Herbs and A Winner

I received my second shipment of herbs on Friday and I’ve already got them processed and processing.  I made a lovely lavendar salve to use on the back of my neck and on my forehead and temples when I get my headaches.  I’ve also got a jar of feverfew, valerian, and spearmint brewing up for a tincture.

Brewing up.  Sounds like a witches brew.  In an earlier time it would have been.  Thankfully, now people might look at me a little funny when I mention making herbal tinctures, but that’s about it.  I can’t wait to test this one out.  Except…..I can really do without the migraines.  But, I know better than to think I will be completely migraine free.  Let’s just hope I’m at least migraine free until the tincture is ready.  That would be awesome.

Here they are all ready for storage.

103_2555

It’s pretty amazing how much a mere 8 ounces of an herb turns out to be.  I have loads of left over to play with.

Now it’s time for the winner of the fabulous homemade soaps from Kleines Country Farms.  Drum roll please.

It was a totally random drawing.  I put slips of paper with numbers on them in a bowl.

103_2556

Then I had hubby draw one of them.

103_2557

This was the winner.

103_2559

 

And commenter number 2 was……..Rachel!

Rachel, please leave me your info in a comment on this post ( it will not be posted) and I will get these right out to you.  Congratulations!  And thank you everyone who participated.

Have a great week everyone!

 

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kat Wishard
    Jan 20, 2013 @ 22:45:31

    I am new to “brewing” but a long time witch, ha ha. Seriously though one of my favorite combinations is spearmint and eucalyptus, I use it in my bath salts and homemade room fresheners. The two scents together are so calming I put it on a sachet inside my pillow case to help me sleep, you just cant beat it. Thanks for sharing your brews, Kat

    Reply

  2. heavensdaughter
    Jan 20, 2013 @ 23:08:00

    Your welcome. And thank you too! Those two sound like they would definately be good for a sleep pillow. I may just have to try that myself.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

