I Love Cooking?

Ok, maybe I just like it a lot more than I used to.

In my 20’s and 30’s it was all about “Just get something edible and filling on the table as fast as you can”.  At that point in my life I had to plan for it, shop for it, cook it, serve it, clean up after it, in addition to working full time and caring for a home and a husband and a child.  Now, add to that never having really been taught to cook before getting married and having to learn it on the fly while also learning my husband’s preferences and not being in a very good place overall, and cooking was the very last thing I was going to enjoy.  It was a necessary chore.  Emphasis on the CHORE. 

If it came in a box or a package and saved me time and I could afford it on my budget and my family would eat it, I used it.  Cookbooks were things to read, not really use except to learn the basics.  Oh, I would dream of things being different.  I would envy those women who could “cook”, but I never thought of myself as one of “those” people.  I could feed us adequately and not poison us.  That was good enough.

Over time, things have changed.  I still work full-time.  I still have to plan it, shop for it, cook it, serve it, and clean up after it.  But, I no longer have small people to deal with which does make things easier.  No more bath time, homework, scout meetings, youth group meetings etc. 

I also did, finally, learn how to cook.  Oh, I’m still learning things, but I’m a little beyond the basics now.  I no longer just read cookbooks, I actually use them too.  And I know enough to tweak a recipe to our particular tastes.

And, I’ve learned how to cook real food.  Mashed potatoes don’t have to come from a box.  Gravy doesn’t have to come from a jar or a package.  Soup doesn’t have to come from a can.

And you know what?  That makes me feel good!  I like the feeling of serving my husband a meal that I made from scratch with my own two hands without a box or a package in sight. 

Because I still work full-time, I don’t always feel like I have the time to devote to cooking that I’d like.  I certainly don’t cook gourmet meals every day or anything. Sometimes I have to wait for the weekend to really do something special, or take pains to plan my time carefully during the week.  But, it can be really nice to do it. 

Cooking is still a necessary chore.  We do, afterall, still need to eat.  But, it’s not as much of a drudgery as it used to be.  Sometimes I actually look forward to it. If you had told me twenty years ago that I would ever be caught saying such a thing I would have called you crazy. 

Now, I’m actually counting the days til I can buy a particular cookbook and start trying out the recipes.  I’m chomping at the bit to figure out which days I will try out two new recipes I have this coming week.  Never would have happened in my younger days. 

So yeah, I guess you can say I do like cooking a lot more than I used to.  Some day I might even say I love it.

What about you?  Do you love to cook?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kathy
    Dec 06, 2012 @ 05:39:53

    Have a question from the cooking expert (that’s you!)
    I have made a deal with a local fast food chicken restaurant. At the end of their business day, they bag up all the left-over unsold fried and grilled chicken pieces and put it in their freezer for me. I come by every couple of days and pick up the chicken.
    Whatever we don’t eat, I want to can.
    Do you think that’s an okay idea to pressure can chicken like that if I remove all the skin and breading?
    It has been an amazing money savings.
    What do you think?
    Thanks

    Reply

    • heavensdaughter
      Dec 06, 2012 @ 22:22:16

      Wow what a great deal! As long as it’s chilled down and kept that way until you are ready to can it and you don’t wait too long to do so, then sure why not? I would certianly make sure to remove any of the breading and skin and just can up the meat itself.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

