Recipe Review

I’ve been using some of the recipes from The Master Mix Way for a few weeks now and thought I would give you a review of at least one of them. It’s all well and good to say an e-book is really good, but what about the recipes?  Do they really work in “real” life?  Are they truly worth the cost of the book?  In this case, I actually do think so. 

Today I am going to review the Master Cookie Recipe.  I have used it several times now.  Imixed up one batch of the master recipe and it filled one and half regular coffee cans.  I did need a very large bowl to mix up the basic mix so be prepared for that.

Each batch of cookies calls for 2 1/2 cups of the mix.  I have made 5 batches of cookies from the one batchof master mix.  Each batchof cookies makes 4 dozen cookies for me using a 1 tablespoon cookie scoop.  YMMV.

cookies ready for the oven

cookies ready for the oven

my newest Pampered Chef toy

my newest Pampered Chef toy

fresh from the oven

fresh from the oven

One thing I do differently than the recipe is that I mix up the shortening, butter, egg and vanilla first before I add in the mix.  It probably doesn’t matter, but I just “feel” better doing it that way rather than the way the recipe says to do it. 

For me the cookies take just 8 minutes to bake.  One thing I really like about this recipe is that the cookies don’t spread out in the pan.  They stay in their little ball shape, only spreading a tiny little bit.  Why is that good?  For one thing, it means I don’t have cookies running together.  For another, it means I have softer cookies rather than flat crunchy cookies which I don’t care for so much.  However, I am at high altitude so again ymmv on that one.

Overall, I am well pleased with the Master Cookie recipe.  I am easily able to change up the recipe for different flavors.  I have made oatmeal scotchies, chocolate chip, ginger spice and vanilla.  The flavor is pefect for each version.  It is so easy to grab the can and scoop the mix out for a quick batch of cookies after dinner.

I will be reviewing other recipes in The Master Mix Way in the coming weeks so stay tuned.  However, I can tell you right now you really do need to get this e-book if you want to save time and money in the kitchen.  You can find it at The Welcoming House Blog.  So go on!  Go snag a copy for yourself!

Leave a Reply

