Corn Chowder

Last night I was in the mood for some good comfort food.  I opted for a pot of corn chowder.  And it was a good choice.

First I browned up about 1/3 pound of bacon.

Then I chopped up an onion and browned it up in the bacon fat.

Meanwhile, I peeled and chopped a few potatoes and boiled them up til fork tender.

I threw them and the cooking water in the pot with the onions and added one can of regular corn and one can of creamed corn.

To the mix I added about 1 cup of milk, 2 tablespoons of basil, a small handfull of dried parsley, a few tablespoons of dried garlic, and salt and pepper to taste.  Let that simmer for about 20 minutes or so, add in the bacon and dish it up.

A little cheese on top and it was good to go.  Yum!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sean Breslin
    Nov 01, 2012 @ 22:34:29

    Everything is better with bacon, and that chowder looks awesome!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

