Square Peg

That’s me.  Always has been.  Never have fit the socially acceptable mold.Always have been the weird one.

When I was 8, I was convinced there was a way to make acorns into a food source, (there is) and I was bummed that I couldn’t figure it out.  What 8 year old thinks like that?

What 12 year old wants to go to the ditch behind the house and dig up cat tails for a dinner side dish? (Thank you Mother Earth News)

What 12 year old also thinks watching her dad butcher rabbits over the kitchen sink isn’t gross, but actually pretty cool? And enjoys eating them for dinner immensely?

What 13 year old thinks chukking it all and moving to Pago Pago, American Samoa so her dad can be a bush pilot is actually a fantastic idea? (Still kinda bummed that one didn’t pan out)

What 18 year old (30 years ago) thinks growing and using herbs for medicine instead of pharmaceuticals is a better idea?

What 21 year old (27 years ago) decides to let her first-born self-wean rather than arbitrarily decide on a date to forcibly wean him?

What 22 year old would shop at Goodwill long before Thrifting was trendy?

What grown woman detests romantic comedies, but adores sword fights, gun fights, and movies that go boom?

Yep, I’m a square peg in a round hole world.

Over the years, parents, teachers, friends, a husband, society, and yes even myself have tried to shave off my edges to make me fit.  Mostly to no avail. 

My heart was in the fringes, but I pushed myself into that round hole as far as I could to make things work at the time. I wasn’t very happy about it.  I thought fitting into that round hole was the “right” thing to do. It took me awhile to figure out that maybe it wasn’t.

Now, I’m much more comfortable being a square peg.  I’m much more comfortable not fitting in.  I’m ok with it.  I’ve found a way to fit where I have to, but still be more true to my heart.  Of course, it doesn’t hurt that many of the things that I wanted to do (and did) 30 years ago are now trendy and more acceptable. Lol. 

Square peg.  It’s a good thing.

Linking up with the BarnHop.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kathyabc
    Oct 12, 2012 @ 01:13:03

    Just remember,
    The building block that was rejected became a cornerstone!!
    Good for you.
    Kathy

    Reply

  2. heavensdaughter
    Oct 12, 2012 @ 02:24:56

    Yes He was. Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

