Alternate Plans Advised

It’s Saturday, so my normal plans are to get up reasonably early, clean as fast as I can and rush off to meet my friend for our accountability meeting, then back home to do any projects.  Well, not today.  Today, my friend called early, before I was even up, and informed me she was sick and was heading back to bed.  Good idea.  I certainly don’t want to share her germs and she’ll feel much better after she gets some rest. 

So today I’m all for alternate plans.

Tomorrow is a big day at church as one of my favorite bible teachers is holding an all day seminar.  There will be zero time for running out for lunch or dinner so it’s a pack-your-own-meals-and-snacks day.  In that vein, I mixed up some banana muffins.

I made two batches so there will be enough to share.

Then I made some peach muffins as well.

Mixed up an extra jug-o-tea.  I can drink the whole thing all by my little lonesome.

Then it was back to my regularly scheduled weekend projects.  One of hubby’s favorite meals calls for a can of chicken.  Have you priced those things lately?!?!?  Even though I buy it at my favorite big box store it’s still outrageous. I generally don’t have pre-cooked chicken on hand to substitute for it either. This is one of my quick and easy go-to meals, so I really needed to find an alternative that is kinder to my grocery budget.

Voila!  88 cent a pound leg quarters and my pressure canner to the rescue.  Granted, the chicken in the cans is breast meat, but I don’t generally care for breast meat and leg quarters are far cheaper to boot.  Hubby probably won’t be able to tell the difference through the peanut butter in the dish.

Half the chicken went into the crockpot to cook overnight.

The other half I cooked on the stove for an hour this morning while I was making muffins.

Once everything was cooled down enough to handle I separated the skin and bones from the meat.  The meat I will chop up and can separately.

The skin and bones will simmer down some more and be strained to can up as just broth.

Much cheaper, much better for us, and bonus chicken broth!

Hope you’re having a wonderful weekend!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kathy
    Sep 29, 2012 @ 19:05:50

    Dear Friend,
    Next time you find chicken on sale, consider canning it.
    Wow!
    Talk about amazing flavor. Plus, you have chicken ready to eat whenever you need.
    Blessings,
    KT

    Reply

  2. becky3086
    Sep 29, 2012 @ 20:19:31

    I have canned up some of our meat birds. I have the white meat in different jars from the dark meat. Then I can the stock as well. I can put together a wonderful chicken soup, casserole or quiche in about 10 minutes. Better than fast food any day!

    Reply

  3. Kathy
    Sep 30, 2012 @ 02:59:00

    Fabulouis ideas!!! You continue to inspire me.
    Thanks so much.
    KT

    Reply

Leave a Reply

