Canning Pinto Beans

Last night, after a very full day, I came home and decided to go ahead and can up some of my dried pinto beans.  I know, “Why can beans that are already dried and preserved?”

Convenience for one thing.  Instead of having to plan ahead and soak and cook up a batch of beans, now I just have to open a jar.  I forsee many pots of beans and ham hocks and chili in my future. 

Fitrst I  measured out 8 cups of beans.  That’s about four pounds of beans.  I wanted to be sure one load would fit in my canner at once.  I still have half a bag of beans left to do at a later date.

Then I covered the beans with water and brought them to a boil.  I simmered them for an hour.

Next, I drained the beans and spooned them into pint jars.  Pint jars are about the same as the cans you buy at the store so doing up pint jars makes recipes easy.  I ladled hot water over the beans leaving one inch of head space.

I pressure canned tham at 13 pounds for 75 minutes. 

Once they were done I turned off the heat and left them in the canner overnight while I went to bed.  This morning I had sealed jars of beans ready to go.

I’m not done canning yet!  I bought more ground meat on sale and I’ve got  freezer bags full of fruit still waiting for jams and jellies to be made.  I’m gonna be busy!

 

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. becky3086
    Sep 18, 2012 @ 10:44:40

    They look great. I need to do up some Boston style beans. I just haven’t had time.

    Reply

  2. heavensdaughter
    Sep 18, 2012 @ 11:10:15

    Thanks! I may try some Boston style down the road. This is still a new venture for me.

    Reply

  3. Julie
    Oct 24, 2012 @ 22:06:35

    I don’t have a pressure canner. Can beans be canned via water bath?

    Reply

    • heavensdaughter
      Oct 25, 2012 @ 01:00:46

      Unfortunately, beans are low acid so they need the pressure canner to be canned up safely.

      Reply

    • pamala
      Nov 07, 2012 @ 05:36:38

      Julie, please remember the only thing to water bath is fruit, pickles high ph. NO MEAT,BEANS OR VEGIES, SOUP, OR ANYTHING ELSE. 🙂 be careful!

      Reply

  4. dottie
    Oct 25, 2012 @ 02:00:14

    is there a differene between a pressure cooker and a pressure canner besides size????? would it be possible to pressure can in a pressure cooker????

    Reply

    • heavensdaughter
      Oct 25, 2012 @ 21:40:52

      I’ve never used a pressure cooker before, so I really couldn’t say for sure. Having said that, I would feel better using a pressure canner for canning and a pressure cooker for cooking. Just my take on it.

      Reply

    • pamala
      Nov 07, 2012 @ 05:37:34

      Yes, don’t use your cooker to can. It isnt safe, and you cant get to pressure.

      Reply

  5. Joanie
    Dec 10, 2013 @ 02:59:16

    Can you add ham to the beans to cook in and season them. Then can the ham chunks in the beans too.

    Reply

    • heavensdaughter
      Dec 30, 2013 @ 23:58:52

      yes you can add ham to season the beans and you can also can the ham with the beans but you will need to adjust the time for the added meat.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

