They’re Here……..

Yay!  My canners are here!

My waterbath granite ware canner….

My steamer/blancher….

And my pressure canner….

I am so excited!  Tomorrow I am going to can up as many jars of ground meat as I can manage.  That seems the easiest to me right now.  Next week I will probably do some chicken and broth.  Doing the happy dance!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thrifthangover
    Aug 18, 2012 @ 15:51:20

    I have been toying with the idea of canning for a few years now. It seems like fun, but a little bit of work. Where I live we have tons of great wild blackberries, and I was thinking of doing jam for Christmas presents one year. How hard is it to do, and what is the investment in all of the proper equipment?

    Reply

    • heavensdaughter
      Aug 18, 2012 @ 21:56:58

      Making jam really isn’t hard at all. It does take some time, but you can find recipes that utilize a crockpot for the hardest part of the work. I went with really large canners so mine were a bit expensive. The whole set was just under $150 with shipping and tax and all. But, for jam you really only need a waterbath canner not a pressure canner which was the bigger expense. You can sometimes find waterbath canners at thrift stores too. Give it a try, it really is fun. Thanks for stopping by!

      Reply

  2. sybaritica
    Aug 18, 2012 @ 21:28:57

    New kitchen toys are great, aren’t they?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

