First Canning Day

This afternoon I put my new pressure canner to the test.  Ok, it really started last night.  I bought 10 extra pounds of ground meat for 1.99 a pound.  Not a great price maybe, but better than normal for me.  I browned it up last night in preparation for today.

I washed and dried the jars I was going to use and put the lids in a pan of hot water.

I decided to use pint jars as they will hold two cups of meat which is about what a pound of ground meat comes out to once it is cooked.  First I put a teaspoon of salt in the bottom of the jars and DIL-to-be filled them for me.

Then I ladled hot water over the meat up to the bottom thread on the jars.  Put on the lids, finger tighten the rings and into the canner they went.  I canned them for an hour and fifteen minutes at 13 pounds of pressure.  And here is the final result, 12 jars of ground meat for the pantry.

While we were waiting for the jars to process, DIL-to-be and I processed about half the bag of peaches.

I have baggies of peaches and baggies of peels and pits in the freezer.  The peaches will be made into peach butter and the peels and pits into jelly.  Possibly, next weekend.

Next up?  Dinner.  Tonight we’re having curried lentils with ham hock and cornbread.  Yum.

Hope you’re having a great weekend.

 

Linking up to:  Barn Hop

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cristy
    Aug 19, 2012 @ 03:23:46

    I have not tried Canning Hamburger yet, they haven’t been on Sale anywhere around here. You did a great Job and I love your Blog.

    Reply

  2. Kathy
    Aug 20, 2012 @ 21:26:04

    Congratulations on your success. Isn’t it fun to try something different that gives you more options for your family. Hurrayl for you!!!!

    Reply

    • heavensdaughter
      Aug 20, 2012 @ 21:35:42

      Thanks! It was definately fun and totallyopens up new options for us. Thanks for stopping by!

      Reply

  3. Eric Maclean
    Aug 23, 2012 @ 02:12:46

    I am game for the beef in glass lol

    Reply

Leave a Reply

