Homemade Toothpaste

One of the things I have been wanting to make is a recipe for homemade remineralizing toothpaste.  Part of my order from Vitacost was for this. 

Here’s the “recipe”

2 tbsp coconut oil

2 tbsp baking soda

2 tbsp calcium/magnesium powder

2 tbsp xylitol or green stevia powder (I used 1 pkt of sweetner)

1 tsp sea salt

20 drops essential oil

10 drops trace minerals ( I didn’t use)

Mix all ingredients together til smooth and put into container.

This set up sooooo hard I couldn’t drag my toothbrush across it.  So, I tried adding some water to loosen it up.  Drat.  I used a little too  much water and now it’s a bit runny.  Here’s what it looks like.

Yep.  It’s kinda purpley-grey.  It cleans just fine, it tastes ok – no funny taste from the ingredients.  I used wintergreen essential oil, but you could use whatever mint you like.  I think next time I will use a little more coconut oil with a touch of water.  Will it actually remineralize my teeth?  We’ll see.  It certainly can’t hurt to use it. And it’s cheaper than a national brand of remineralizing toothpaste in the stores. 

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Ted Savidge
    Aug 18, 2012 @ 11:35:24

    Home made toothpaste maybe far superior in safety compared with commercial ones, but they need to match up with quality of commercial products atleast.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

