D.A.R.

Daughters of the American Revolution.

My grandmother on my dad’s side was a member and I could join based on her research.  However, one ancestor was redlined by the D.A.R.  If I understand correctly that just means the documentation wasn’t good.  Sad.

However!  On my mom’s side I have another Patriot line I can go through.  Yay!

I spent Saturday afternoon at the downtown library in their genealogy room working with a D.A.R. genealogist.  She was able to find documentation for my 4th, 5th, and 6th generations.  Now I just need to find the 7th, 8th and then the 9th is the Patriot.  I also have to get birth, death and marriage certificates for the first three generations which are not online because they are too “new”.

Next month, the chapter will petition me and my friend for membership and the next month we will be inducted.  Cool!  And fun!

I love genealogy, but what I love the most is the stories.  Even the stories you can piece together from land records and census records.  It’s fun putting the puzzle pieces together.

Ok, like I really need another something to add to my already full plate, but I think a once a month meeting is doable.  And it’s something I can pass to my granddaughters.  Once I get all the documentation done and verified, they can join under my line.  Someday that may be important to them.

Now, I need to work on my Daughters of the Confederacy and Daughters of the Republic of Texas.  LOL!!!  I wonder if there are any of those chapters here in the mountains?

Leave a Reply

