Stocking Up

Yesterday was shopping day and I splurged a little.  I bought 9 1/2 pounds of ground meat, 7 pounds of pork chops and 6 pounds of chcken breasts.  Along with all my other stuff.

So, why so much meat? Did I run into a windfall of money?  Did a long-lost uncle include me in his will?  Sigh, no. Nothing like that.  Nope, this was a splurge that was built into my budget.

But, why?

Because in a week to a week and a half I will have my very own waterbath canner, pressure canner, canning accessories and (to start) four cases of canning jars!  Woohoo!!!

I have wanted to get these items for awhile now, but really couldn’t justify the cost even though they will save me oodles in the long run.  However, at the end of the month I will be celebrating my 30th wedding anniversary.  Guess what I asked for?  Yep.  You got it.  Canning supplies!

I could have asked for another pretty bauble, but I decided to ask for something practical. 

Why?  It is a rather major milestone in marriage afterall.  A pretty bauble would have been entirely appropriate.

I chose to be a good steward of what God has blessed us with and use bauble money to get canning supplies to help keep my grocery budget under control.  Remember in an earlier post when I said things really are not going to get better?  At least not anytime real soon.  Well, rumor has it that cattle and pig farmers are having sell off their stock because they can’t afford the corn to feed them and hay is almost non-existant because of the major drought.  That means that meat prices should come down for a bit, before sky-rocketing.  My plan is to buy and can as much meat as possible before that sky-rocketing happens.

I’ve been reading posts by a really lovely lady over at The Welcoming House.  She has been posting loads of really good information about how to stock up and keep a family fed for cheap.  She was really my inspiration to go ahead with getting the canning equipment now.

So over the coming weeks I’ll be telling you all about my new adventures in canning.  It’s a lot of work to try to do it and work a full-time job too, but it can be done.  I’m actually looking forward to it.

So, what are you doing to stock up?

Linking up with: Barn Hop, Titus 2sday, Above Rubies, Teach Me Tuesdays, Deep Roots at Home, Raising Homemakers

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. becky3086
    Aug 12, 2012 @ 03:09:24

    We have a good bit stocked up even after using a lot of it over some bad weeks that we had. I am buying as much canned corn as I can since Phil loves it and I hear that corn may get expensive (I don’t really believe that but in case I am wrong, we’ll have corn anyway). We still have one hog to butcher and 5 meat birds plus quail. I also just hatched 4 more ducklings though they will be just for eggs unless they are all drakes. I’ll plant a fall garden and actually have already started that. I’ll also plant things in pots for fall where I can.
    I have a whole shelf full of things I have canned myself. I buy whatever is on sale or marked down and preserve it whichever way is best for it.
    I’m pretty sure, come what may, we’ll be alright.

    Reply

  2. heavensdaughter
    Aug 12, 2012 @ 13:18:41

    Wow! You do sound prepared. That’s my goal too. The garden was pretty much a bust this year with all the heat, but we may try to plant something for fall too. I’m so looking forward to being able to can things myself from sales. Even if the rumors are not true, I’ll feel better having things on hand for us.

    Reply

  3. fluff
    Aug 13, 2012 @ 15:31:47

    12 years ago, a dear friend taught me how to grow a garden. It produced so much that I called and told her now she had to teach me to can it! One skill led to another!

    Once I understood that high acid vegetables could be waterbathed and low acid food needed pressure canning, and once I had tackled canning a few vegetables, I advanced to meats (but anyone can start with meats). Ham, chicken, small chunks of roast in beef broth…I delighted in my new skills.

    So fast forward 12 years and even last night I was putting up the equivalent of 11 pints of salsa (which won’t last long around here!) Heaven’s Daughter, you are so going to enjoy the canning “puttin’ up” journey!

    And I understand about forgoing the baubles for necessities. Yes you could have had a pair of diamond earrings from Zales Jewelry Store for your 30th Anniversary, but you made the right decision to put into place the foundational supplies that will be needed for the future. If you are like me, you love your family and prefer to know there will be food on the table ’cause you can’t eat a bauble!

    I, too, just had my 30th wedding anniversary and did the same (future necessity vs. bauble). I look forward to special occasions where I can ask for something that we might dilly-dally about acquiring because of the expense.

    On my latest birthday, I once again chose a practicality over a necessity and it was pretty funny. On my actual birthday, my hubby was out of town on a business trip. Days later, when he arrived home, he said, “I’m sorry I missed your birthday!” “Oh, that’s alright.” I replied, then added, “You were pretty good to me!” “Oh I was????” he questioned. “What did I get you?” “You got me $500 worth of beans and rice.” “Oh I DID?!!!” he said quite surprised and then added, ” I’d say I WAS very good to you!”

    I look forward to Christmas, birthday, mother’s day, valentine’s day, etc. Now I vacuum seal, can, garden, bake bread, treadle sew, etc. Nice to have the right tools for the job at hand.

    May God continue to bless your productive hands!

    Reply

    • heavensdaughter
      Aug 13, 2012 @ 15:44:55

      Thank you so much for your words of encouragement. I am working very hard to be a good steward for my family. And yes, I would rather know they are taken care of then have a pretty bauble. I’m not quite at your level yet, but I am working towards it.Thank you for stopping by!

      Reply

  4. Laura of Harvest Lane Cottage
    Aug 14, 2012 @ 19:01:11

    So good to know there are other practical gals out there!

    Reply

  5. 591 wells fargo bank na
    Jul 21, 2013 @ 04:14:50

    Hello! I just want to give a huge thumbs up for the great data
    you might have right here on this post. I shall be coming back to your blog for more soon.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

