Homemade Cough and Cold Syrup

I know we don’t want to think about it, but that time of year is just around the corner.  Yes, cold and flu season.  And if you work for a company like mine, they only give you two sick days a year.  Really?!  Yep, really.

So, in the interest of getting over a cold or the flu a little faster and more comfortably without having to resort to all the chemicals and such in over-the-counter cold medicine (which I will use if I have to, but prefer not to) here is a recipe for a cough and cold fighting syrup made with ingredients you probably already have on hand.

1 onion chopped

4-5 cloves of garlic chopped

1 inch knob of fresh ginger sliced thin

1/2 to 3/4 cup apple cider vinegar

1/2 to 1 cup honey

Combine all ingredients except honey in a small sauce pan. 

Bring to a light boil, then turn down to a simmer and simmer for 20 minutes.  Turn off heat.  Stir in honey for a minute or two.  Then strain through a fine mesh strainer or a coffee filter.

Pour into a jar and put on the lid.  Label with the contents and date.

To use:

At the first sign of a cold or the flu, take 1 tablespoon up to every half hour for adults.

The ingredients in the syrup are soothing to a sore throat and immunity boosting as well.  Add  this with a nice cup of hot tea with your toddy beverage of choice, a session with a neti pot if needed, and a warm detox bath and you should feel better soon.

Note:  I am not a health professional and this recipe is for informational purposes only.  Use at your own risk.

Linking up with:  Barn Hop, Titus 2sdays, Teach Me Tuesdays, Above Rubies, Like A Mustard Seed

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. becky3086
    Aug 11, 2012 @ 18:45:54

    I love raw honey when I have a cough or sore throat. It works best for me but I will never forget my daughter having a terrible cough one time and as I got desperate I asked for help online and someone mentioned peppermint tea. It just so happens that I had some dried peppermint from the garden so I tried it. She stopped coughing almost immediately and had a good long rest from that coughing. I could not believe that it worked so well. I would love to keep some peppermint around but I keep buying it and it keeps dying on me. I had a good plant this year but just recently all of my mints have started looking bad and we aren’t even hot now. I have no idea why it is like that.

    Reply

  2. heavensdaughter
    Aug 11, 2012 @ 23:32:02

    Hmmm…..I’ll have to keep peppermint in mind for this cold season too. Maybe you could find a good source for some dried peppermint to have on hand if your plants are being obstinate.

    Reply

  3. sassymesheree
    Aug 13, 2012 @ 14:56:45

    Do you store this on the pantry shelf or in the fridge? And how long does it safely store for? Also, would it be okay to strain it first and then add the honey? I was thinking that the heat might kill all the beneficial stuff that is in raw honey if I mixed it with the hot ACV?

    Reply

    • heavensdaughter
      Aug 13, 2012 @ 15:42:06

      I store it on the shelf for no longer than about 6 months. I see no reason why you couldn’t strain it first and then add the honey. I like a little bit of residual heat to “melt” the honey a bit so it combines with the ACV, but straining first would certainly work. Thanks for stopping by!

      Reply

  4. home cough remedies
    Jan 07, 2013 @ 08:31:11

    Thanks for ones marvelous posting! I seriously enjoyed reading it, you’re a great author.I will make sure to bookmark your blog and will come back in the foreseeable future. I want to encourage you to ultimately continue your great writing, have a nice morning!

    Reply

  5. increasing revenue
    Jan 28, 2013 @ 07:19:01

    Great article. I will be going through many of these issues as well.
    .

    Reply

  6. positive approach
    Feb 18, 2013 @ 03:18:59

    Hey there! Do you know if they make any plugins to help with Search Engine Optimization?
    I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but I’m not
    seeing very good results. If you know of any please share.
    Appreciate it!

    Reply

  7. sales training video
    Jun 12, 2013 @ 05:00:43

    Hello! I’ve been reading your web site for a while now and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from Huffman Texas! Just wanted to say keep up the great job!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

