Why Do I D.I.Y. and Strive For Frugality?

Why do I make gallons of iced tea instead of drinking coke/pop/soda?  Why do I make my own clothes washing soap?  Why do I have a binder full of D.I.Y. recipes and ideas?  Why am I trying to cook more from scratch?   Why am I searching Pinterest for crockpot recipes? Why am I buying more ingredients and fewer products? Why do I do practical D.I.Y-ing instead of frou-frou stuff?

Oh, lots of reasons.

First off, doing things for yourself is fun!  It’s a great outlet for my creativity.  It’s a nice feeling of satisfaction to sit back and say “I did that”.  And yes, I am slowly being sucked into the black hole known as Pinterest.  So much good stuff there.

Then there’s the idea that when you make something yourself you know exactly what went into it.  This is true of foods and cleaning products among other things.  Exactly how many chemicals and un-name-ables do you really need to subject your body to each day? 

Last, but certainly not least, is the cost factor.  Most of the time making something yourself will save you money over buying it pre-made.  This is true of almost anything really.

I am doing more things myself for all of those reasons and a few more as well.  I am cooking more from scratch because it is better for us and cheaper as well.  I am making my own seasoning mixes and other mixes that I use regularly for the same reasons.  It is so nice to sail by the little .75 and 1.50 packets of whatever knowing that I have the ingredients at home to make 6, 8, or even 10 times that little packet amount for the same price or less.  Plus, I know what’s going into it. 

I’m making more of my own cleaning products because it’s cheaper and it means fewer toxic chemicals flooding my house.  I can buy a gallon of white vinegar for less than $2 and clean the entire house practically using less than 2 cups of it.  Compare that to your favorite brand of all-purpose cleaner.  And the vinegar cleans just as well and is safe for pets and children to be around.  My homemade laundry soap makes 5 gallons for less than the cost of a cheap bottle of liquid detergent that would only do a month’s worth of laundry.   My homemade febreeze works just as well as the store bought version and takes only pennies to  make.  The soap I made cost less than $1 a bar and it cleans fabulously without all the detergents and chemicals in store bought bar soap.

But why?  Does it really save that much  money?  Does it really matter that much?

I think so.  I know my grocery budget has benefitted from making more things from scratch.  And fewer chemicals is always better whether in your body or on it. 

On top of all that, I really do foresee a time in the near future when it will be vitally important to know how to do things for yourself.  The economy is NOT getting better, there is a severe drought, there are economic tensions all over the world.  While I don’t want to start singing the doom and gloom song, I don’t think things are going to get any easier.  Making ends meet is going to remain hard or get harder.  The more money I can free up in my budget from doing things myself, the more money I have to pay my mortgage or put gas in the cars.  Or maybe, help someone else who is struggling more than  me.

I am nowhere near as frugal or as handy/crafty as I would like to be.  We still eat way more fast food than is really necessary. I still buy enough products that I’m unhappy with myself for not figuring out a different way of doing some things. I would love to be a stay-at-home wife with tons of time to do more stuff myself.  I would love to have chickens, rabbits, goats, a huge garden, fruit trees etc.  I would love to have a fully stocked pantry with a year’s worth of ingredients.  But I don’t and I’m not.  I have to work with what God has given me and be the best steward of those things as I can be.  So, here’s to doing what you can with what you have!

Hope you have a great weekend!

Linking up with Barn Hop, Titus 2sdays,Above Rubies, Teach Me Tuesdays,Like a Mustard Seed, Simple Living Wednesdays,Raising Mighty Arrows

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Vinny Grette
    Jul 28, 2012 @ 03:19:01

    Agree entirely that we all have to know more about things in our lives – where they come from and how they are made. One day this knowledge may save our life!

    Reply

  2. heavensdaughter
    Jul 28, 2012 @ 19:03:28

    I absolutely agree! I am really working on learning how to do things for myself so that when the time comes, I’ll be ready for it.

    Reply

  3. Abbi
    Jul 31, 2012 @ 21:25:12

    We love doing things our self as well. It is a really fun challange to see if we can make it instead of buy it. Once in a while I stress myself out with all the things I try to do but mostly I really enjoy it. I too like to save money, know what is in things and like to know that I can do without much of what is in the store in case anything should ever happen so that I cannot get those things. Another thing that I like about doing things myself is that I can get by without a lot of packaging and in many different ways contribute much less to the landfill then if I were a “normal” person.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

