Gringa Enchilada Semi-fail

Awhile back I found a recipe for a red chli enchilada dry mix.  I love my red enchiladas so I had to mix up some of the dry mix. 

Then I just had to wait for a time to use it.  That time was tonight.

To make up the mix into a sauce you start with 1/4 cup of lard or oil.  Ok, so I used meat based shortening instead.  Melt that in a skillet.

Then add 1/4 cup of flour and stir til smooth.  Cook for a few minutes until you have a light brown roux.

Then add 1/3 cup of the enchilada sauce mix.

Cook over medium heat for a few minutes, add two cups of water, then turn down the heat and cook for 15 minutes until thickened.  I actually let it cook on low for about 25 minutes and it didn’t hurt it at all.

Then I chopped up an onion.

Take a pound of ground meat

And brown together.

Then you need corn tortillas

Sour cream

And shredded cheese

This is where things started to fail.  I tried to soften the corn tortillas in the hot sauce, but that didn’t work out too well.  What to do, what to do.  Ah!  The microwave!  Well, that didn’t work out so well either.  The tortillas cracked when I tried to fill them with the meat mixture and roll them up.

Oh well.  I poured the sauce over them.

Topped that with sour cream

Covered all that with cheese

I dished it up like it was a casserole.

The flavor was just what I hoped it would be.  It’s definately a keeper on the sauce mix.  Now I just need to figure out the whole corn tortilla  thing.  I’m such a gringa.

Leave a Reply

