Homemaking Skills

Cooking, cleaning, laundry, basic sewing.  My list isn’t all-inclusive, but it’s a start.  However, I wasn’t taught half of even my small list.  Yep, that’s right.  I wasn’t taught how to cook more than box mac and cheese.  I could clean a bathroom like a pro, but nothing else.  I could do basic laundry, but don’t ask me how to get out stains.  I was given Stretch-and-Sew lessons one Christmas. 

What was my mother thinking!!!

Well, first off, she was a working mom before it was fashionable or normal.  I went to daycare centers everyday.  Before there was one on every corner.  I didn’t have the benefit of being home with  my mom and absorbing the “mom” things.  Evenings were spent cooking and doing some laundry and getting me off to bed at a reasonable time.  Weekends were spent getting everything she needed done quickly so we could go to the library or the mall.  I was taught to love to read.  And thank goodness for that!

I got married when I was 18 and I was woefully unprepared.  I still struggle in many areas, but thankfully I have learned a few things over the last 30 years.

Remember I said I love to read?  My mom also taught me to “read” cookbooks.  So, with the help of some good cookbooks I taught myself how to cook more than mac and cheese from a box. My husband is most grateful.

From other books I gleaned how to do laundry properly and how to clean better.  I say better because I am NOT a housekeeper.  It’s a skill I’m still working on. 

I can sew on a button and hem up pants and make up a pattern.  If it doesn’t involve putting in a zipper.  I have yet to master the art of putting in a zipper.  If I ever have a working sewing machine again it is on the list of things to tackle.

So, what’s my point?  If you have kids, male or female, teach them the basic skills needed for life!!!  Don’t expect the schools to do it for you cuz it ain’t happenin’.  Knowing how to fend for yourself is so helpful.  Even if all you can manage is teaching your kids how to find the information they need, that’s a start.  The internet is, of course, your first stop, but don’t neglect the idea of the library too.  Or Amazon.  Or Barnes and Noble.

Ok, off my soapbox.  Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

