Homemade Iced Coffee

So, I let my coffee and water mixture soak overnight.

Then, this morning I put a papertowel in a colander and set the colander in a larger bowl.  Poured in the coffee and water mixture and let it drain.

It didn’t make as much as I was expecting after using 5 1/2 cups of water, but it did make about a pint of coffee concentrate.

I used 4 ounces of the concentrate for my large water bottle, added a shot of vanilla, some sugar-free sweetener syrup and a package of sweet and low.  Then I poured in enough milk to make it taste good to me.

I still need to tweak the proportions a bit to make it just the way I like it, but this is a great start.  Some half and half would make it richer tasting than just whole milk. I may also use more water next time to soak the cofffee grounds.  I think, all-in-all, the experiment was a success.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. becky3086
    Jun 17, 2012 @ 14:31:18

    Good for you. I dislike cold coffee but my mother used to drink it during the summers.

    Reply

  2. heavensdaughter
    Jun 17, 2012 @ 19:02:23

    I like it in the summers too, but I’m kind of partial to hot coffee when the snow blows.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

