Pepper Blues

My peppers aren’t growing. 

I have four different kinds of pepper plants in my garden, and not one of them is growing.  I don’t know what my problem is. 

They get water four times a day.  They get at least six hours of sun each day.  I even gave them some plant food.  And still they are not growing.

I had the same problem last year, but in a different spot in the garden.  Last year I got one tiny jalapeno and one tiny anaheim off my plants.  What am I doing wrong?

I am open to any and all suggestions.  If nothing takes off this year I might just put them in planters next year.  But, I’d really like some peppers this year.  Gardeners help!!!

 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kathy w
    Jun 03, 2012 @ 19:51:19

    Hi..we put lime around ours….just a circle around the stem, but not touching the stem. They LOVE lime!!!!!

    Reply

  2. thebeadden
    Jun 03, 2012 @ 20:32:54

    I don’t have any easy answers. Maybe over watering? I am fairly new to gardening but we water once a day if they need it.
    The year before last, we had no luck with our peppers. Last year we kept them in the greenhouse and they did great!
    This year we planted some in the garden and will keep our fingers crossed that they do well.
    I wish I knew what to tell you. I hope they start growing. Maybe not watering them for a while will force the root to get stronger, searching for water. Then, after some time, the plant will grow?

    Reply

  3. becky3086
    Jun 03, 2012 @ 21:36:45

    Why are they watered 4 times a day? I’d suggest you stop that. They shouldn’t need it. If you water well it should at least last a couple days. Where are you? Is it hot enough for peppers? If it isn’t hot enough, they will just stall until it is.
    For the last few years I didn’t get any sweet peppers either. We put in the raised beds and the Jimmy Nardello peppers are producing. I never had a problem with my jalapeno peppers producing though.

    Reply

    • heavensdaughter
      Jun 03, 2012 @ 22:53:33

      It’s very dry where I am so we have the garden on a timer to water four times a day for about six minutes each time. It’s getting up in to the 90’s here, but maybe it’s not been hot enough for an extended enough period. Thanks so much for the advice. We’ll keep an eye on the watering situation. Being on a timer is great, but maybe we can back down the duration.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

