First Ever Batch of Soap

I did it!  At least, I think I did it.  I made soap this morning.  First of course I had to gather all the right equipment.

I got a digital scale….

I got another stick blender just for soap making…..

I found a stainless steel pot…..

Two stainless steel spoons……

A plastic pitcher just for soap making……

Lye….

And a Pringles can for a mold…….

I forgot to take pictures of the measuring process, but here are the measurements for this batch of soap…..

1 lb of Crisco or Lard

6 oz of water

2 oz of lye

I started the Crisco melting on the stove…..

Then I measured out the water and the lye and put them (water first) into the pitcher.  I waited a little bit til the melted fat had cooled down a bit and the lye mixture wasn’t too hot.  Then I poured the lye mixture into the melted fat.  Next, I took my stick blender and started to blend.

It took about 30 minutes total to get it to trace.  I would use the blender for awhile, then I would stir it with one of my spoons, then switch back.  The blender was getting hot! 

Once it got to trace – where I could see where I had been with the blender and drops stayed on top for a second –

I poured it into the empty, cleaned out Pringles can.

Now, I’ll let it set up for a couple days before I peel off the can and slice it up to cure.  It’s already feeling hardened in the can, so I hope it turns out well.  I am so excited!

I am linking up to the Barn Hop, Like A Mustard Seed, Teach Me Tuesdays, Simple Living Wednesdays, Little Natural Cottage, Our Simple Country Life

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. becky3086
    May 27, 2012 @ 20:15:16

    Very good job! I have made soap many times. I always use lard but I am sure yours will turn out just fine. Looks like it traced good.

    Reply

    • heavensdaughter
      May 27, 2012 @ 20:25:05

      Thanks! That’s good to hear from someone more experienced. I’m so excited to try it out in a few more weeks.

      Reply

  2. Katy A.
    May 29, 2012 @ 13:16:31

    How exciting!! I really want to start making our own soap. We have goats and I would like to try goats milk soap! I haven’t tried it yet…but hope to one day! I hope yours turns out wonderfully!!! 🙂

    Reply

    • heavensdaughter
      May 29, 2012 @ 13:43:59

      I would love to make some goats milk soap too! A friend of mine has goats so I at least have a place to get some good goats milk to try it with. Thanks for stopping by!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

