Paring Down the Food Budget

It’s taken awhile, but I’m finally starting to see a lowering of my grocery bill.  I’ve been buying more ingredients and fewer products, plus we’ve added more bean meals.  I try to plan a nice variety of meals so the crew doesn’t balk about the additional beans.  Here’s my menu for the next two weeks as an example:

African Chicken

Pork chops

Meatloaf

Salisbury steak

Split pea and potato soup

Southwest beans

Pasta fagioli

Hamburger helper lasagna (homemade)

Hamburger helper Cheeseburger Macaroni (homemade)

Hurry curry

Baked chicken

Ham casserole

Stroganoff

BBQ

I won’t be serving beans three nights in a row, that’s just how I listed everything.  Here’s how the grocery list looks:

paper towels (I’m working on it)

ground meat

porkchops

navy beans

green beans

corn

peas

milk

lunch meat

spaghetti noodles

cereal

ice cream

bananas

crackers

french onion soup

beef boullion granules

chicken boullion granules

split peas

egg noodles

eggs

string cheese

brats

canned baked beans

hot dogs

steaks

baking mix

Remember, Memorial Day is coming up before my next shopping trip so I have included extra meat for a bbq.  Hubby is a master on the grill.  There are still a few things I need to work on as far as making myself, but I’m doing so much better.  Hubby is even drinking more lemonade (2 mix packets at 12 cents each plus my one cup of sugar for a gallon) and more tea rather than so many cans of coke.  Much easier on the budget.

I’m still working on it, but the budget is getting smaller.  Yay!

Leave a Reply

