Making Mixes and Dog Days

Today has been busy trying to fit in as much work as possible before going to Kenya Fest.  I started off taking Sengi the dog to the groomer.  I think he was in pretty desperate need of a grooming.  What do you think?

The groomer did a great job.  He looks so much better.  I think he feels better too.

While I waited for the groomer to call I decided to tackle a small cleaning project.  This cabinet in my laundry room was a disaster.

First I got everything out and wiped it all down.

Then I consolidated a few things, like my baking mix.  Putting it in a plastic container is much nicer.  Then I taped the box recipes to the side for easy use. Yes, I know, I should make my own.  I’m working on it.

I put my bin of baking chips and nuts in the back of the cabinet sinse I don’t use them everyday. 

The more every day things are up front.  I think it looks much better and will be easier to find things and put them away properly.

I also had time to make up some ready-made mixes.  Because we will be eating a lot more beans in the coming months, we will also be eating a lot more cornbread.  I found a great “fake” mix for my favorite boxed brand of cornbread mix at Fake-It-Frugal. In just a few minutes I mixed up four bags of cornbread mix with directions.  Now, when I come home at night I can grab a bag, add the wet ingredients and throw it in the oven.  Easy-peasy.

Well, it’s off to church  now for Kenya Fest.  Hope you had a blessed Saturday.

I will be linking to Barn Hop.

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Heather
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 09:59:58

    I never think to make my own mixes, although I do most of my baking from scratch. What a great idea! I think it would be a lot easier to see stuff ready made in the pantry, instead of trying to figure out what I was going to do. We eat a lot of beans here too, but not so much cornbread, I think I will have to add that in 🙂

    Reply

    • heavensdaughter
      Apr 30, 2012 @ 10:04:22

      I’m trying to cook more from scratch, but the convenience of a mix is just so tempting. Making my own cornbread mix is just a start to wean myself away from the commercial products. Thanks for stopping by!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

