Heart Doctor And Other Things

I finally had my follow up appointment with my heart doctor.  Back in September, I had to wear a heart monitor 24/7 for a month.  Ick.  But, I did it.  Anyway, seems I have a condition called Wolfe-Parkinson-White syndrome.  It’s a cute little thing where you have an extra electrical pathway in your heart that can somtimes confuse your heart into taking the wrong electrical path.  Thankfully, it’s an easy fix if it needs to be fixed.  In my case, it doesn’t bother me, I hardly notice anything amiss and the heart monitoring only showed one significant episode in the whole month.  So, the doctor said “Call me if you need me”.  Hah!  Works for me!  No heart catheterization, no hospitals, no nothing.  Woohoo!!!  So very happy.

With that out of the way, I came home and started cooking.  So, what’s for dinner?  Impossibly Easy Taco Pie.  Yep, one of those wonderful baking mix throw-it-all-together-and-bake dinner pies.  It’s relatively cheap – ground meat, onion, green chilis, taco seasoning, two eggs, 1 cup milk, 1/2 cup baking mix, salsa and sour cream.  It’s very quick and very easy.  And it tastes good.  I also have a huge pot of beans cooking for use probably Monday.  It has a good chunk of pork neck bones, half a jar of salsa, one  onion, garlic, cumin and I might add some green chilis to it too.  Add some cornbread and it’s dinner for another night. 

So, why is the pot of beans not dinner for one day this weekend?  Well, tomorrow we are all volunteering at Kenya Fest at church so we will be eating pizza for dinner there.  Then Sunday is visitation for ds.  Normally, hubby eats whatever he can find in the house and dil-to-be and I grab fast food after visitation that night.  It’s not the cheapest way to do things, but I haven’t yet figured out a better way.  I’m working on it.

Tomorrow is grooming day for Sengi the dog and project and cleaning day for me.  At least as much as I can fit in before we have to leave for church.  See you here tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

