New Challenges

Well, the old car needs a new transmission.  Rats.  I was hoping it was something different.  So, I am ramping up the austerity measures a little bit more.  Hubby said he would eat more beans each week so I’m taking him at his word.  In fact, tonight he is eating lentils for the very first time.  I ditched my meat-based meal plans and made lentil stew instead with no meat.  Now, normally Iwould cook any kind of beans with a ham hock or pork neck bones, but tonight I decided to try it vegetarian.  Here’s the recipe I used:

2 cups lentils

3 potatoes, peeled and chopped

1 onion peeled and chopped

1 can diced tomatoes

1 can chicken broth (optional can use water)

1 can sliced carrots

salt and pepper

basil to taste

garlic powder to taste

chipotle chili powder to taste

Boil the potatoes and lentils til just tender

Saute the onion in olive oil til softened

Add the rest of the ingredients and the lentils and potatoes.  Simmer for approximately 20 minutes to meld the flavors.

Serves 6 – 8

 

With the garden pretty much in, I have come to the realization that I do not have enough room anywhere in my yard right now to grow the kinds and amounts of herbs that I want.  Plus, the cost to buy enough plants for what I want is just prohibitive at this point even if I had the room.  So, I have resigned myself that I will need to purchase my dried herbs for my salves, ointments and tinctures.  I made out a list last night of the herbs I will want to purchase.  So, sometime late summer or early fall I will do just that.  Time to start saving up for it now though.  Ahhh.  I can’t wait for it.  It’ll be fun.

I’m off to look for more bean recipes.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. James Keahey
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 23:05:15

    Well, I’m the Hubby and I enjoyed the lentils very much. The texture between the soft carrots and potatoes and the lentils was a good combination. The seasoning was pronounced and very good without being overpowering. I would eat this again but would ask for some cornbread in the side.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

