Projects

I love projects.  Sometimes I think I live my life by my projects.  It doesn’t matter what kind of project – crocheting, sewing, cooking, cleaning.  As long as I have a project in the works I’m happy.  And once one is done, I’m looking for another one. 

I’ve been saving the peels from a bag of Cuties and finally had enough to fill a quart size canning jar with the help of a few limes.

I covered everything with white vinegar.  I’ll be shaking it every day and in two weeks it should be ready to use for cleaning.  It’s already smelling very citrusy.  I can’t wait.

I had ordered a small package of vanilla beans and they arrived yesterday.  Having never worked with real vanilla beans I was surprised at their texture.  They were very moist and not dry like I expected. 

I pulled out the bottle of vodka I bought over the weekend and poured off a bit of it.

 Then I sliced open 14 of the beans and popped them into the bottle of vodka.

This will get shaken about once a week and stored until October when it should be ready to use.  Christmas baking here I come!

I had two beans left over, so I decided to make some vanilla sugar.  I filled another quart size canning jar a little over halfway with sugar and opened up one of the beans.  I cut the bean into four pieces and stuck them into the sugar.

I filled the jar the rest of the way up and put the last bean into the top.  This will sit for at least two weeks and then I will have lovely vanilla sugar to bake with.

Next up, I mixed up some homemade hot chocolate mix.  I mentioned in

another post that hubby puts hot chocolate in his cofffee every morning.  It

can get a little pricey to keep buying it in the little packets even if you buy it at your favorite big box store.  So, I found a relatively inexpensive recipe and mixed it up. 

The recipe is…..

2 cups dry milk

1 cup sugar

1/2 cup baking cocoa

1/2 cup non-dairy creamer

The recipe makes about 15 cups.  I tripled it to fill up an empty coffee can.

This should last at least 6 – 8 weeks depending on how much coffee hubby drinks.

So what’s on the horizon?  Oh, loads of new projects to tackle.  There’s the garden to put in, my flowers to plant, my herbs to plant.  Then there’s vacation week when I plan to do my spring cleaning ( a little late, but oh well).  After that there is the harvest of the vegies and the harvest of my flowers and herbs.  This fall/winter I will be making herbal oils, vinegars, ointments, creams and tinctures.  I’m still gathering the items to try soap making too.  Wow, I  sure do have a lot to do.  It’ll be fun!   It’ll be even more fun to bring friends along for the ride.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. becky3086
    Apr 11, 2012 @ 01:45:12

    I really like your citrus cleaner idea. I will be interested to hear how the vanilla ones turn out and how your husband likes the homemade hot chocolate mix.

    Reply

  2. Wendy Clark
    Apr 12, 2012 @ 15:38:13

    Hi! I’m responding about the DIY taco seasoning-not sure if you can subsitute the onion salt. Maybe you could try it in a very small amount when you make it the first time and see.

    You have been busy! I love to make homemade hot chocolate. It is so rich and creamy!

    Reply

    • heavensdaughter
      Apr 12, 2012 @ 21:12:05

      Thanks for the reply! I’ll give it a shot the first time I make it and see how it goes. Maybe I’ll make a smaller batch the first time.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

