Shopping – A Day Early

Since I am off tomorrow, I decided to go ahead and do my shopping today.  Plus, I had to take the day off to ferry DIL-to-be to her appointments.  She had gallbladder surgery on Monday and is not yet in good enough shape to drive herself.   So, after all the appointments we went shopping.  DIL-to-be drove the little motorized cart around the stores.  Walking for long periods is not a good thing for her yet, and we were shopping for 2 1/2 hours.

I am so over budget it isn’t funny, but it was planned so it’s not so bad.  I had to get a ham for Easter, and that will give us actually four meals at least so the price was good.  Then I purchased all the items I need to make my own hot chocolate mix in bulk.  Hubby uses hot chocolate in his coffee every day (poor man’s cappucino).

I also purchased the vodka to make the vanilla extract and ordered the vanilla beans from Amazon.  They should be here early next week.

I also had a coupon for Pringles and bought some of them.  We like them, but I also bought them to save the cans to mold soap in once I can assemble all the equipment.

Then, this morning before all the running around, I gathered dandelion flowers.

I saw a blog post about making dandelion syrup and printed out the directions.  Supposedly it tastes like honey.  We’ll see how it comes out.  Hubby rolled his eyes at me when I told him about it.  Lol.  That’s ok, it’s just an experiment and I rid the yard of some of the “weeds”.

I am so psyched about all the projects I have planned and ready to go.  Plus, it’s Easter weekend.  It’s a weekend for celebration on so many levels.  Life is good.  God is good.  All the time.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. becky3086
    Apr 06, 2012 @ 01:24:45

    My first thought was “Wow, that is a BIG bottle of vodka!” lol. I will be interested to hear how you dandelion honey turns out. We don’t have a lot of dandelions but I have been spreading the seeds around whenever I find them. 🙂

    Reply

    • heavensdaughter
      Apr 06, 2012 @ 01:32:43

      LOL. Yes it is a big bottle! But it will make enough vanilla extract to share and I will have enough for me for quite awhile.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

