A Very Good Friday

My day started at 4:30 this morning and not on purpose.  I woke up and couldn’t get back to sleep, so I decided not to waste the day and got up. 

Last night I got the dandelion syrup started.  First I put my 3 1/2 cups of flowers into 3 cups of water.  It’s a little more water than called for, but I didn’t want them to dry out.

Then I chopped up a lemon, skin and all to add to the flowers.

I brought everything to a boil and then simmered it for an hour.  After that, I took it off the heat and let it steep overnight.  This morning, I strained everything through a coffee filter first, and then through a fine mesh sieve to get just the juice.

I

Put the juice back on the stove and added 1 1/2 cups of sugar.  Brought it to a boil and let it simmer for just over an hour until it was syrupy.

The flavor is very delicate and next time I think I will use less lemon.  The experiment worked.  It looks and tastes similar to a lemony honey.  Perfect for toast or pancakes.

If that wasn’t enough kitchen work, I decided to attempt to make bread at high altitude.  I found a high altitude recipe and decided to give it a shot.

Once I got the yeast working, I put sugar, milk and shortening into a pot to heat.

Three cups of flour to start

Add the yeast and sugar mixture

Then add up to three more cups of flour to make a stiff dough.

Let it sit for 10 to 20 minutes then turn out and knead til smooth and elastic.  The recipe called for two rises.

Then into the pans for one last rise before baking.

This is the finished product.

Once again, they didn’t rise properly.  Sigh.  The joys of baking at high altitude.  It’s always alchemy.  Will the flour miraculously turn into high, risen bread or not?  The flavor is really good and I think the next time I make this recipe I will just let it rise twice and see how that works.

To finish off my day I was off to the thrift store to see what I could find.  I scored.  I found two very pretty nightgowns, three shirts, four books, a stainless steel pot for soap making, a plastic pitcher for soap making, and three large mixing bowls. 

Now I’m all done in and ready for a nap.

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. beverlyhillsfarms
    Apr 06, 2012 @ 22:29:57

    Your bread looks great anyway and the syrup sounds delicious!

    Reply

  2. Needle and Fork
    Apr 06, 2012 @ 23:17:28

    very interesting! I wonder what dandelion tastes like!

    Reply

  3. Kathy
    Apr 09, 2012 @ 14:12:42

    I tried to make the dandelion syrup too and it worked out really great until I forgot to put the bowl under the colander when I strained it- I lost it all down the sink! That’s what I get for talking when I should be paying attention. The recipe I used called for 12 cups! That was too many for me so I halved it. It also said to use 1 lemon for the 12 cups so if you would like it less lemony, you could cut the amt of lemon down. Great job with the syrup! I’m going to try again once the flowers bloom again.

    Reply

    • heavensdaughter
      Apr 09, 2012 @ 22:36:32

      I’ll definately try it with less lemon next time. I’m so sorry you lost your dandelion juice down the sink. What a bummer! But, there’s always next time.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

