Kitchen Work

After I got home from the women’s breakfast at church, I spent an hour cleaning the house.  I even swept and mopped using my new homemade swiffer pads (yes!). Today was supposed to be a baking day…..and it was, but when I went into the laundry room to start the first of four loads of laundry, I realized I was out of my store bought laundry soap.  Not a problem.  I was planning on making another batch of homemade laundry soap anyway.  This just upped my timetable.  I removed the last quart of homemade soap from my soap bucket and got busy. The recipe I use is for the liquid/gel soap…..

1 bar fels-naptha soap grated

1 cup washing soda

1 cup borax

hot water

5 gallon bucket

Grate the soap into a pan and cover with water.  Heat on low to medium heat until the soap curls melt.  Pour melted soap into 5 gallon bucket.  Add washing soda and borax and stir to dissolve.  Fill bucket with hot water.  Let stand overnight, it should gel up by morning.  I usually just leave the soap in the bucket, but you can pour it into empty detergent bottles if you prefer.  I generally use a half cup of soap for a normal load of laundry. 

Sinse I was already grating soap, I decided to make up a batch of dishwashing soap also.  It’s a new recipe that I found in another blog post.  Sorry, I can’t remember where now.  I just printed it out when I found it and stuck it in my Homesteading binder.  Here it is…

7 oz of zote soap grated (or half of a 14 oz bar – I had the half bar)

5 quarts of hot water

1 cup baking soda

1/4 cup washing soda

1/4 cup lemon juice

Grate soap into heavy stockpot.  Pour in the water and stir.  Heat over medium heat, stirring often until soap is m elted.  Remove pot from heat and add in baking soda, washing soda and lemon juice.  Mix well.  Allow mixture to cool, then pour into a sealable container or reuse your store bought soap bottle.  While the soap is cooling in the pot,it may start to gel and separate.  Mix with a whisk before filling containers.  This makes enough to fill 1 gallon milk container and two 16 oz soap bottles.

Once I had the soap made and the laundry going, I got started baking.  I wanted to do at least two types of cookies and put some of the dough into the freezer for another day as well.  I started with oatmeal scotchies – one of hubby’s favorites.  Once the dough was mixed up and ready, I removed about half of the dough onto a sheet of sticky plastic wrap. I formed into a sort-of log shape.

After I wrapped the dough in the plastic wrap, I wrapped the log in foil and stuck in the freezer. 

 Then I started baking the rest of the dough.  It was kind of a fail though.  The recipe says to not grease the pans, but I should have.  Ugh, half stuck cookies are not fun.

Once I had those cookies baked and unstuck, I moved on to chocolate chip cookies.  This time I foiled AND sprayed the pans and the cookies came out like a dream.  Yay!

While laundry was washing and drying and while the cookies were baking, I took the time to process the meat I bought yesterday.  Into ziplock bags and into the chest freezer. 

I have enough porkchops for a couple months and enough ground meat for at least two weeks.  I did keep out one pound of the ground meat to mix up into Morrocan Meatballs. 

 Here’s the recipe for the meatballs….

1 pound of ground meat (the recipe calls for lamb, but that’s too expensive for me so I used plain beef)

2 tbsp chopped parsley

1 tbsp chopped coriander

1/2 tsp ground cumin

1/2 cup onion, peeled and finely chopped

1/4 tsp cayenne

Once that was mixed up I set it in the fridge til it was time to cook dinner.   Then I formed the meat into meatballs.  I stink at frying meatballs, so I put them in the oven at 350 degrees for 20 minutes.

While they were cooking I mixed up the sauce.

2 cloves garlic, peeled and chopped

2 medium onions, peeled and finely chopped

1 green bell pepper, cored, seeded, and chopped ( I only had an orange one so I used that, plus hubby hates the green ones)

1 small bunch of parsley chopped

2 pounds tomatoes chopped ( I used two cans of tomato sauce as I forgot to buy tomatoes)

1 tsp ground cumin

1 tsp ground black pepper

1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

2 tbsp lemon juice

1/4 tsp cayenne pepper

1 1/2 tsp salt or to taste

Saute onion, garlic and bell pepper til onion is translucent.

Add the remaining ingredients for the sauce and simmer, covered, for 30 minutes until the sauce has cooked down to a thick gravy. 

Add the meatballs and simmer another 10 minutes.

I chose to serve this over rice

The flavor is delicious, but it is spicy so be forewarned if you try it.  I got the basic recipe from The Frugal Gourmet on our Immigrant Ancestors

Wow.  I’m tired from my very busy day.  Some Saturdays I like to take it easy and just relax, but sometimes I prefer to be uber productive like today.  I’m tired, but it’s a good tired.

I’m linking to Barn Hop, Titus 2sdays, Simple Living Wednesday,Proverbs 31 Thursdays

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Rose @ Walnut Acre
    Mar 27, 2012 @ 11:17:10

    What a productive work session!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

