Thrifty Ways

I skipped my nap again today and instead spent a lazy Sunday afternoon doing some good home-makey (is that a word?) thrifty things instead.

While my pot of pintos and ham hock simmered away on the stove and before the cornbread needed to be made I grabbed these…..

 

and worked on repairing these….

 

Two pairs of socks with holes, two of hubbies shirts and one of his sweaters needed fixed up.  Although I could have just replaced these items, I’m really trying not to spend money on things we don’t need to buy.  Replacing shirts and socks that can be repaired with a minimum of time just seems silly. I probably saved myself a good $75 by pulling out my little sewing kit and spending less than an hour stitching everything up.  I’d say that was a win.

I’m linking up with Hearts for Home, Proverbs 31 Thursdays, Simple Living Wednesday, Titus 2sdays, Barn Hop

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Angi @ schneiderpeeps
    Mar 12, 2012 @ 12:54:13

    I came over from Barn Hop and enjoyed your blog. I also try to repair instead of buy. It not only saves money but it usually saves time.

    Reply

  2. Yolanda
    Mar 12, 2012 @ 15:10:50

    How nice! Have you ever heard about “turning a collar” on a man’s woven shirt? (Or woman’s for that matter.) If you have a sewing machine, it is a pretty easy thing to do when the collar gets all worn looking, but the rest of the shirt is worth saving. My mother always darned our socks, and I do with socks that are worth saving. So many these days are so cheaply made that it’s not worth the trouble. Yes, mending can save you tons!

    Reply

  3. Heather :) :) :)
    Mar 12, 2012 @ 22:41:39

    I found your blog via the Homstead Barn Hop…and yes, I think it’s perfectly fine to say “home-makey”… 🙂 🙂 Which reminds me, I should work on fixing some of my socks that are feeling a bit holy lately 🙂 Love and hugs from the ocean shores of California, Heather 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

