Austerity Measures

Greece isn’t the only place with a mountain of debt to deal with.  We’re up to our eyeballs in it!  Ok, maybe not so much, but we do have a pile of debt that hubby wants gone in 12 months.  Eeeek!  We have a little wiggle room money-wise, but it’s gonna take some serious thought to get this done.  That means I will  have to be even more creative and careful with what we have.  Nothing gets wasted and nothing frivilous gets bought.  Sigh.  No more frappachinos when I go to download books at Barnes and Noble.  Ok, we can do this.  I can work in beans more than once a week and leftovers can become planned-overs.  In that vein I did this last night…..

 

I took the carcass from the roasted chicken I had cooked a few days ago and put it in a pan with enough water to cover it and let it simmer away for a couple of hours.  Then I had the above pot of broth, and a plateful of chicken to chop up and put back in.

 

Now I have a soup base that I can add rice or pasta to for my lunches.  That will save the lunchmeat for hubby who prefers sandwiches for lunch at work.

Tonight I had to come up with a new idea for porkchops.  Ok, this probably isn’t really a new idea, but it’s one I haven’t done before.  I found the dregs of a box of cornflakes in the cabinet

 

and an unopened bottle creamy italian dressing.  I crushed the cornflakes in a baggie before spreading them on a plate and poured some dressing into a bowl.

 

Then it was just like doing an egg-wash and flour batter except I dipped the porkchops in the dressing to coat both sides and then into the crushed cornflakes.  Onto a baking sheet and into the oven at 350 degrees for 30 minutes. 

 

I’ll be serving them with some cheesy mashed potatoes and probably green beans.  Yum.

Now I’m off to dig out my Tightwad Gazette books and remind myself what can be done.

Leave a Reply

