Exercise

I really don’t like exercise.  I don’t like group sports or going to the gym.  But.  I have 40 lbs to lose.  There, I said it.  It’s in print now.  And even with working on my diet and working with my lapband, it’s just not going to happen without exercise.

I have all the usual excuses not to exercise.  I work all day, I’m tired at night, I get up so early already, I don’t have any place to exercise, it’s snowing outside, I have too much to do.  Blah, Blah, Blah. 

Remember when I said I was working on a lesson on respect for the Women’s Retreat?  Well, for my husband, how I look is a matter of respect.  This weight I have left to lose is not showing him my respect.  I’ll post more on that later, but suffice it to say I need to work on my respect level.  I’ve been reading a lot on marriage lately (upcoming is a post on the Sexperiment) and I’ve just been convicted (again) that I need to work on this weight instead of just ignoring it and resting on my laurels of the weight I’ve already lost. 

Last night when I couldn’t get to sleep, I got up and printed out 10 weeks of exercises that were originally created for the Royal Marine Commandos back in the 50’s.  It’s just five basic exercises that you build on for 10 weeks.  I can do them in the living room with no equipment at all.  I got up this morning (after having NOT slept a wink) and did my first day of 5.  They’re not too hard and they got me going.  It’s not much really and I don’t expect it to magically melt the weight off me in 10 weeks, but it is a place to start and that’s what I needed.  I have committed to God and to myself that I will get up and do these exercises 5 mornings a week.  That means no more hitting the snooze button on the alarm.  I have to get up right then to have time to get everything done in the mornings. 

This along with the weight-loss challenge I’m in at church should propell me forward.  I’ll keep you posted.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Fran
    Mar 01, 2012 @ 20:32:52

    ..thanks for the motivation…I too have to lose 40 pounds…I can’t believe i have gained that much…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

