I Messed Up

Yep, I did.  I expected that I would, but I didn’t know it would be so soon. 

See, I’m teaching a lesson at the Women’s Breakaway Retreat this year.  If you are going to teach about something, I can guarantee you will be tested in that very area.  Every Pastor knows that if he is going to teach on marriage, his marriage will hit a rough patch.  If he is going to teach on parenting, his kids will run amok.    If he teaches on finances, an unexpected bill will show up. Well, I’m going to teach on respect.

Oh my.  I’m going to be teaching on how to show respect to our husbands as well as the other men in our lives.  I’ve got the lesson almost done. It’s a doozy of a lesson and I love it.  I should, therefore, have known better today.  I’ve been studying this for weeks now.

I was disrespectful of my husband. 

There, I said it. 

When we got in the car to go home from work he told me, “If I can’t talk to my wife without the fear of being jumped on, then I have no one I can talk to.”

Ouch.

Yeah, that’s going in my lesson too.  I hadn’t really looked at it that way.  But, it’s true.  Most men don’t have relationships like women do where they can talk about most anything.  It’s a guy thing.  That’s why having a respectful, listening wife can be so very very important to our husbands.

Lesson learned.

Leave a Reply

