New/Old Cookbooks

I love cookbooks.  My mom taught me to read them like novels.  Any cookbook will do, but the ones with actual usable recipes are of course the best.  Recently I purchased four old cookbooks to increase my cooking of “real” foods and curtailing my dependance on packaged foods.  Not that I really cooked a lot of packaged stuff, but still.  I also was looking for good, inexpensive, creative new recipes. I was bored with the same old stuff. 

Since I was looking for frugal meals, I immediately thought of The Frugal Gourmet.  He was on PBS in the 80’s and published a number of cookbooks.  I found them for 99 cents a piece online and grabbed three of them.  I got The Frugal Gourmet, The Frugal Gourmet Does America, and The Frugal Gourmet on our Immigrant Ancestors.  While there are good recipes in all three, I have fallen in love with the last one.  I  have tons of recipes marked to try and have already tried quite a few.  They have all gotten good reviews from the crew.  They are not all necessarily frugal, as they use roasts and other meats quite a bit, but they are real food as opposed to packaged nugget junk. 

The last cookbook  I got is one that I have had for a long time, but I can’t seem to find it anymore.  It is the More-With-Less Cookbook.  Many of the recipes are from Mennonite missionaries.  And let me tell you, Mennonite women can COOK!  I love this cookbook for the ways to use up what’s on hand and how to stretch what you have.  It’s great for using real, inexpensive foods to create great meals too.

So far, my quest for new inexpensive real food recipes has been successful.  I have yet to have a recipe fail which is good.  I hate wasting food.

If you need new ideas for menu plans, check out these books.  You can find most of them in your libraries if you don’t want to purchase them first.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. WyomingStoryGirl
    Feb 14, 2012 @ 05:09:12

    I love cookbooks too. My husband looks at me weird when I am “reading”, just makes him hungry he says. My son enjoys “reading” them too and he’s only 3.

    Reply

  2. Tara
    Feb 14, 2012 @ 20:55:04

    I love my More with Less cook book. I bought mine on ebay because I had looked for quite a while at thrift stores and garage sales. I finally just shelled out the cash and it is worth every penny.

    Reply

  3. Carmi
    Feb 17, 2012 @ 01:45:37

    I also have the More with Less cookbook. I’d be interested in those with the cookbook to post the dish when they make it. I might make more from it than I do.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

