Busy Saturday

Today I got a wild  hair and decided to clean my bedroom.  It sooooo needed it.  When you live in a tiny house, things can pile up everywhere if you are not careful.  Ok, so I haven’t been so careful lately.  But, I got the bedroom back to being a bedroom again.  I’ve got my backpacks and suitcase ready to pack up for this week.

clean bedroom

Someday I might even get around to re-decorating in here.  Or is it just decorating period?

We;ve been having a load of rain here lately and my plants have been loving it. 

lettuce and spinach june 09

My buttercrunch lettuce and spinach.

tomatos june 09

Two of the four tomatoes.

beans and turnip greens june 09

Beans and turnip greens.

cucumbers and beets june 09

Cucumbers and beets.

You can also see the horrible bindweed infestation I’m fighting.  They are loving all this rain too.  Grrrr.  I hate it.  There is some more good news though.  Remember this picture?

beets, beans, cukes, greens

See all that hard packed clay junk we call soil up here?  Remember when I posted that hubby had gone out on Memorial Day weekend and sowed more grass seed?  Well look at that same spot now.

grass under tree

A friend at work told hubby to get some commercial grass seed from our favorite warehouse store.  It is the best!  We are now growing grass in areas I truly thought were hopeless.  The bad news is now he really needs to till up the entire back yard and get rid of the ground cover that we’ve just let grow up every year and actually plant grass.  Sigh.  Well, it is growing really well under the tree. I have no idea what kind of grass it it.  It looks kind of….feathery.  It’s definately not St. Augustine .  As long as it grows in the crappy soil we have and reseeds to come up next year and survives the rest of the summer too, then I’m happy to have “feathery” grass.

I packed up my carry on backpack today with all my books, puzzle books etc.  I still need to add my mp3 player and headphone, extra batteries, camera, cell phone and charger etc.  I bought a ziploc “pump and seal” contraption to see if it would hold a seal on my packing ziplocs any better than just sitting on them.  Nope.  I sealed up a skirt last week and when I took it out it was no longer compressed.  It’s  not blown up or anything so I will probably still use it to pack my clothes up.  It is disappointing though.  I will probably pack everything up Monday except for toiletries of course.  I don’t want to be rushed Wednesday night or frantic Thursday morning.  I have to make sure I’m in “adventure/fun” mode for Monster.  There will be tears.  So, I can’t be frustrated and cranky on top of it.  I will have tons of pictures to post and stories to tell when I get back.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Am I there yet?
    Jun 14, 2009 @ 02:54:57

    Searching around looking at different blogs I happened to come across yours. You write about alot of different things and you have an energy about you that comes across in your blogs. I am adding you to my blogroll and hope you visit mine!!!

    btw, congratulations on all the hard work you put into your bedroom. I watch “Clean Sweep” every morning on TLC and I get alot of tips from them.

    and I also did some gardening. i NEVER do that. Sometimes I think that I was behind the door when they handed out the “energy” gifts!!!

    Reply

  2. Am I there yet?
    Jun 16, 2009 @ 02:27:27

    thanks for visiting my blog….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

