Overwhelmed

CB043383

Have you ever just felt overwhelmed by everything going on around you?  Have you ever felt like digging a hole, crawling in, and pulling the dirt back in around you?  Have you ever wanted to find a nice, dry cave to hide out in?

I’m there.

My life is not so horrible to be causing this.  In fact, it’s not my life but the lives of those around me that is overwhelming me .  So much hurt.  So much pain.  So much fighting.  So much struggle. So much pride. So much anger.  So much sickness.  So much addiction.

I swear I could pray 24/7 and just scratch the surface of all the junk in the lives of just the people I know.  And since I’m prayer ADHD I for sure wouldn’t get everything prayed for.  How do I do this?  How do other people do this? 

And then there’s the whole “savior” complex.  You have a problem?  I’ll try to fix it.  Um. Yeah.  That really doesn’t work.  I have to remind myself that Jesus is their Savior, not me.

Add to all that the stresses at work, the time crunch factor and relationship issues and I am wiped out.  I need to find my balance.  I need to find my rest.

One step at a time.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. J
    Jun 05, 2009 @ 19:49:42

    I truly believe “balance” is probably an evil myth – made up to make us feel guilty and off-center.

    But being right smack dab in the center of God’s will, where Jesus is our “center” – good times. Then, regardless of the crazy winds and storms that rage – there He is. And when we run frantically to Him? He tells the winds and the waves: quiet…be still. This is the song I am singing, with great hope and for you, too…

    Be still, my soul: the Lord is on thy side.
    Bear patiently the cross of grief or pain.
    Leave to thy God to order and provide;
    In every change, He faithful will remain.
    Be still, my soul: thy best, thy heavenly Friend
    Through thorny ways leads to a joyful end.

    Be still, my soul: thy God doth undertake
    To guide the future, as He has the past.
    Thy hope, thy confidence let nothing shake;
    All now mysterious shall be bright at last.
    Be still, my soul: THE WAVES AND WINDS S T I L L KNOW
    HIS VOICE Who ruled them while He dwelt below.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

