Sengi

hush dad

This is Sengi.  His name supposedly means Lion in Tibetan.  He is a Lhasa Apso mix we rescued from the pound.  He is his Dad’s dog.  He loves to chase the cat, play fetch, chase Maya around the  yard and has yet to meet another dog he doesn’t like.  He can be jealous.  He is totally at home here evidenced by his favorite sleeping position – flat on his back, all four paws in the air.  We have no idea if he was dumped at the pound or if he was picked up as a stray.  Given his penchant for “walk-about” he could have been picked up.  But, how could anyone NOT have gone looking for him?  He is too incredible.

We had been looking for another dog to take the place of my Buddy (future post material) who died on Easter 2006.  I had been looking at pictures online at the pound in our county.  So, one Saturday we went looking for real.  My husband was adamant that he got to pick the dog and I had no say in it.  Neither did my son.  Hmph.  Whatever.  I had shown him the picture of Sengi and we found him in the cage.  He was very quiet, stood up against the gate with his head down.  He needed groomed desparately.  We went on past and looked at other dogs, but my husband came back and decided he was the one.  But, when we got to the front desk to put in the paperwork for him we found out someone else wanted him as well.  Dang!  Ah hah!  We formulated a plan.  At our shelter, you have to claim a dog you put in for before 11:00 a.m. the first day it is actually available for adoption.  Soooo…..my son showed up the following Thursday when Sengi was officially up for adoption as soon as the shelter opened,  filled out the paperwork for  his dad and then he and I went back for him the next day after he had his surgery.  The early bird gets the….really great puppy!

My oldest granddaughter absolutely adores him and he loves her to pieces. 

sengi and the girls

My husband says frequently “I didn’t realize how much I needed a lap dog til I got Sengi”.  And he really did.  They are a perfect pair.

Leave a Reply

