My Gluten-Free Experiment

I went to the doctor a few weeks ago and found out I’m a pretty healthy fat person lol. Seriously, all those markers they look for – blood sugar, cholesterol etc were EXCELLENT! The only “problem” was my level of Vitamin D.  It wasn’t even all that low, but it was lower then it should have been.  And I generally take 2000 mg of Vitamin D every day.  So how could it be low? Well, doc said it could be an absorption problem.  What might be hampering my absorption? Gluten.

Arrrgh!!!!

So, he suggested I take a three week hiatus from all things gluten, then add it back in and see how I do.  If I suddenly have GI issues when adding it back in, or if I find I don’t have some issues while I’m off of the gluten, then perhaps I have developed a sensitivity to it.

Although I hope nothing changes, I have a sneaking suspicion that it will.  Sigh.  And I just posted lovely ideas for easy baking in my More Bang For Your Buck series.

Hmmm.  Perhaps God is trying to get my attention.  I had already decided to go back to low-carbing to see if it would help budge this weight I had gained after my lap-band was deflated.  Maybe this is His way of telling me “yes, do that”. ‘Tis a possibility.

So now, not only do I need to look out for carbs in general, but I need to watch for gluten in all it’s forms. Did you know there is gluten in most soy sauce?  Yep. It might be low-carb, but it’s not gluten-free.

My grocery list looks slightly different now.  It has much more fruit and vegies on it to fill in for the carby things I was eating.  Protein sources of course.  And now, I ‘m looking for gluten-free substitutes for some pretty common items like pasta and crackers.  My doctor’s nurse suggested I try quinoa noodles.  She said they were her daughter’s favorite.  Sigh.  An extra trip on shopping day now to go to the health food stores.  Thankfully they are not too far out of the way.

Depending on how things turn out, I may invest in the specialty flours and start learning to make my own noodles and crackers from them.  They aren’t hard to make generally, I just don’t normally take the time to do it.

Well, the journey has begun.  I’ll let you know how it turns out.

Hope you’re having a wonderful week!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. oneandahalfacrehomestead
    Feb 06, 2014 @ 22:24:52

    Good luck going gluten free. I hope it helps!

    :)Vicki

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 139 other followers

