Making Chinese Balm

There’s a particular Chinese balm available in stores that we seem to go through tons of around here.  It’s cooling and warming and great for sore muscles and even stuffy sinuses.  But the price tag?  Not so great for just over half an ounce.

So, I went surfing looking for a formula to make my own.  Found it!!  I had to order some essential oils, but now that I have them it was time to  mix up some balm.

Side note:  Yes, I use essential oils.  I just need way more education on them then I have at the moment.  I really appreaciate everyone who has commented and given me information and links for using essential oils in the last week.  It’s been wonderful!

So, here’s the round up of things I needed to make the balm:

103_2594

The formula I used was this:

1/8 cup coconut oil

1/8 cup olive oil

1 tablespoon beeswax

20 drops camphor essential oil

20 drops peppermint essential oil

20 drops cajeput essential oil

15 drops eucalyptus essential oil

15 drops cinnamon essential oil

10 drops clove bud essential oil

Melt the oils and the beeswax.  Pour into a container.  Immediately add essential oils and cap container.  Allow to cool and harden.

103_2595

103_2596

The final product smells a little different than the commercial product, but that’s probably because I’m using coconut oil and olive oil rather than petroleum products as the base, but the essential oils ring through.  Score!!!

Linking up with:  Barn Hop, The Welcoming House, Like A Mustard Seed, Housewife How-to’s

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nancy@livininthegreen
    Feb 04, 2013 @ 16:44:32

    Thanks for sharing the recipe!

    Reply

  2. James Keahey
    Feb 04, 2013 @ 19:07:54

    Well, I’m the offical tester.. Worked well.

    Reply

  3. Natalie
    Feb 05, 2013 @ 16:17:01

    Thanks for sharing :)
    Am a new follower.
    x

    Reply

  4. housewifehowtos
    Feb 05, 2013 @ 17:32:21

    This recipe sounds a bit like the ‘Thieves Oil’ mix which is fantastic stuff. I’ll have to give yours a try! Found you via The Prairie Homestead, and I’d like to invite you to join my How To Tuesday Link Party, too.
    http://housewifehowtos.com/link-party-2/how-to-tuesday-link-party-7/

    Reply

  5. Dianna Kennedy (@DiannaKennedy)
    Feb 07, 2013 @ 13:28:05

    I’m off to a ‘learn essential oils’ class next week! How fun!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 139 other followers

